Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & beyond

Meltwater is a news service providing UNB users access to newspapers from New Brunswick. The service also offers other NB provincial news sources in addition to newspapers and sources from around Canada, and news sources from around the world. UNB’s access is primarily aimed towards providing access to New Brunswick news through licensed access, but users are welcome to explore beyond those sources should they desire to do so; users can explore licensed news sources as well as those external sources tracked and searched by the service.

Meltwater access requires users to login by username and password with each visit to the site. Login details are provided on the next screen and will be updated randomly.

Permitted Use | eResources record | Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access | Coverage varies by title
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Statista
Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.

Statista is a database that aggregates statistics from a variety of sources. You may find useful statistics there, plus they include data visualizations for many topics.

Other Useful Resources

The Homeless Hub Community profiles for New Brunswick cities, including Saint John (with additional links to other reports/data)

Search Tips

Finding and evaluating sources other than journal articles and books can be tricky. Using your regular google searching may be hit or miss so here are a few tips and tricks on "creative googling" and evaluating what you find:

Searching

Play around with your search terms and do multiple different searches - consider adding words like statistics, reports, data, policy, toolkit, evaluation, assessment to your search. Also try switching between searching on Saint John and New Brunswick as keywords - sometimes Saint John specific info will only come up in results when searching broader
Go beyond the first page of Google's search results - often really useful results are on the second or third results page
Consider using the Advanced Google Search
- Limit by file type - lots of documents show up as PDFs or powerpoint files and it can be helpful to add this as a limit
- Limit by domain - doing specific site searches can often be more useful than going directly to the website and using their search function or manually looking for publications. For example, if you wanted to search the federal government website for a specific topic, you'd put https://canada.ca in this "limit by domain" field, then search on your topic. The results will only be from this website. Also try limiting by https://gnb.ca
- Limit by region - select a specific country, like Canada, and your results will be more focused
News articles reporting on a recent study or report can be a good place to start to then track down the original source - always cite the original source if available rather than the news study

Evaluating

The type of information found through Google searches and on many websites is considered unpublished and hasn't gone through the traditional peer review process that most academic journal articles go through. This means you'll need to do some evaluating yourself to ensure the sources you're using are credible and reliable.

Ask yourself questions like these:

Who wrote the source? Is it an individual person or coming from an organization? Try Googling the author or organization and try to find information that comes from a source that the author or organization didn't produce/create themselves. What can you learn about their background?
- If the author is an organization, what kind of reputation does it have? Is it known for promoting specific points of view (bias)? Is it known for sharing factual information or have you found controversies/concerns?
What makes the author/organization an expert on this particular topic (or are they not an expert)? What about their background leads you to trust or not trust them?
Where does the author/organization get the information from? Do they cite or link to sources? Do you find that information trustworthy or do you have concerns?
Is this the most current information out there? How important is it for your topic to have the most recent information available?

10 Questions for Evaluating Information