History, Caribbean Guide Ask Us

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

This volume, part of the Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas, is the first major survey of research on the indigenous peoples of South America from the earliest peopling of the continent to the present since Julian Steward's Handbook of South American Indians was published half a century ago. Although this volume concentrates on continental South America, peoples in the Caribbean and lower Central America who were linguistically or culturally connected are also discussed. This volume is an 'idea-oriented history', emphasizing the development of general themes instead of presenting every group and society. Indigenous peoples' own stories of the past are used as well as the standard accounts written by outsiders. Research is presented following regional and conceptual frameworks; some chapters overlap or present differing interpretations. The volume's emphasis is on self-perceptions of the indigenous peoples of South America at various times and under differing situations.

Contents: Introduction / Frank Salomon and Stuart B. Schwartz -- Testimonies: the making and reading of native South American historical sources / Frank Salomon -- Ethnography in South America: the first two hundred years / Sabine MacCormack -- The earliest South American lifeways / Thomas F. Lynch -- The maritime, highland, forest dynamic and the origins of complex culture / Anna C. Roosevelt -- The evolution of Andean diversity: regional formations (500 B.C.E.-C.E. 600) / Izumi Shimada -- Andean urbanism and statecraft, (C.E. 550-1450) / Luis Lumbreras -- Chiefdoms: the prevalence and persistence of "Señoríos Naturales" 1400 to European conquest / Juan Villamarín and Judith Villamarín -- Archaeology of the Caribbean region / Louis Allaire -- Prehistory of the Southern Cone / Mario A. Rivera -- The fourfold domain: Inka power and its social foundations / María Rostworowski and Craig Morris -- The crises and transformations of invaded societies: the Caribbean (1492-1580) / Neil L. Whitehead -- The crises and transformations of invaded societies: Andean area (1500-1580) / Karen Spalding -- The crises and transformations of invaded societies: coastal Brazil in the sixteenth century / John M. Monteiro.

Combining recent medical discoveries with historical and geographical scholarship, this is the most comprehensive history of human disease since August Hirsch's monumental Handbook of Geographical and Historical Pathology in 1880. Accessible to laypeople and specialists alike, The Cambridge World History of Human Disease explores the patterns of disease throughout the world as well as the variety of approaches that different medical traditions have used to fight it. The volume traces the concept of disease as medicine developed from an art to a science, then addresses the history of disease in each major world region. The final and largest part offers the history and geography of each significant human disease - both historical and contemporary - from AIDS to yellow fever. A truly interdisciplinary history, it includes contributions from over 160 medical and social scientists from across the globe. Together with The Cambridge World History of Food (2000), The Cambridge World History of Human Disease provides an extraordinary glimpse of what is known about human health as the twenty-first century begins.

This book provides a general history of Latin America in the period 1492-1825.

This three-volume set of international historical statistics allows the full breadth of statistical analysis and comparisons across both time and across the world.

A series of penetrating, original, and authoritative essays on the history and historiography of the institution of slavery in the New World, written by a team of leading international contributors.